Campus Director


Dr Suresh Ramasamy Kannaiyan took over the charge of Campus Director of Amrita College of Engineering and Technology, Nagercoil in 7th November 2017. He has served as a Senior Professor and Vice Chairman of Amrita University, Principal of Engineering colleges affiliated to Anna University and Kerala Technological University. He was a member of board of studies of various Institutions including Anna University, Chennai, and autonomous Institutions under Anna University and Pondicherry University. And he was also a member of various academic bodies such as Academic Council Member and Academic Board Member of Sona College of Technology, Salem, Thiagarajar Polytechnic College Salem, PSG Polytechnic College, Coimbatore. He was the Chairman of Indian Society for Technical Education (ISTE), Tamilnadu State from 2009 to 2011. Presently, he is a Member of Executive Council, ISTE, New Delhi. He has guided several PhDs under Anna University of Technology, Coimbatore, authored several textbooks and also offering consultancy to educational Institutions for Accreditation.


  • Certificate of appreciation for rendering exemplary service with devotion and dedication in the development of Institution, 28 January 2000, Amrita Institute of Technology and Science (Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham)
  • Eminent Engineer Award – Best Performing Professor in recognition of active/passionate participation/contributions in Teaching-Learning Process, Research Projects, Consultancy Projects, Mentoring Faculty and Students, Participating/Organising Local and or Transnational Events, Accreditation Process of NAAC/NBA/ABET/NIRF, Collaborative Research and Outreach Activities DURING 1997 – 2021, jointly Presented to Dr R. K. Suresh by Indian Technology Congress Association (ITCA), Bengaluru, University Space Engineering Consortium (UNISEC), Committee for Space Programme Development (CSDP), Serbia during the Indo-Serbia Engineers Day Celebrations held on 15 September 2021.


  • Ph.D in Mechanical Engineering, PSG College of Technology, 2005.
  • Master of Engineering (Production Engineering), PSG College of Technology, 1996
  • Post Graduate Diploma in Marketing Management, IGNOU, New Delhi, 1994
  • B. E (Mechanical Engineering), Government College of Technology, Coimbatore. 1991
  • Diploma in Mechanical Engineering, Alagappa Government Polytechnic, Karaikudi, 1982


  • Campus Director, Amrita Institutions & Principal, Amrita College of Engg &Tech, Nagercoil, Since Nov 2017
  • Chairman - Admissions (B.Tech Programme), Amrita University, Jul 2016 – Nov 2017
  • PRINCIPAL, SCAD College of Engineering and Technology, Cheranmahadevi, Tirunelveli, August 2015 – June 2016
  • PRINCIPAL, Ahalia School of Engineering and Technology, Palakkad, June 2013 – August 2015
  • CEO, Excel Group of Institutions and Principal, Excel College of Technology, Salem, June 2012 - June 2013
  • PRINCIPAL, Kalaignar Karunanidhi Institute of Technology, Coimbatore, June 2011-May 2012
  • PRINCIPAL, P.A. College of Engineering and Technology, Pollachi, Aug 2008 – May 2011
  • Sr. Professor and Vice Chairman, AMRITA UNIVERSITY, Jul 2006 – Aug 2008
  • Asst. Professor, AMRITA UNIVERSITY, Coimbatore May 1996 – Jul 2006
  • Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering, SREE NARAYANAGURU POLYTECHNIC COLLEGE, COIMBATORE, Jun 1989 – Apr 1996
  • Instructor in Mechanical Engg. Christ the King Polytechnic College, Coimbatore-32, July 87- Jun 89
  • Supervisor, Accurate Machiners, Coimbatore, May 1982 - July 1987.


  • Member of Examination Board, Texila American University
  • Member, Academic Council, Sona College of Technology, Salem for 6 years.
  • Member, Board of Studies, Mechanical Engineering, K.S. Rangasamy College of Technology, Tiruchengode
  • Member, Board of Studies, Mechanical Engineering, ANNA University of Technology, Coimbatore, TN.
  • Member, Board of Studies, Mechanical Engineering, ANNA University of Technology, Madurai, TN.
  • Chairman, NAAC Coordination Committee, Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Coimbatore
  • Executive Council Member of Indian Society for Technical Education, New Delhi for the period 2003 to 2005, 2006 to 2008 and 2012 to 2014
  • Chairman, ISTE – Tamil Nadu & Pondicherry Section from 2009 to 2011.
  • Joint Secretary, Institution of Engineers (India), Coimbatore Local Chapter.
  • Member-Academic Board, P.A.C Ramasamy Raja Polytechnic College, Rajapalayam.
  • Member-Academic Board, PSG Polytechnic College, Coimbatore.
  • Member, Academic Board, Thiagarajar Polytechnic College, Salem
  • Member, Board of Studies, Dept. of Mechanical Engg. Adhiyaman College of Engineering, Hosur.
  • Member, Planning Committee, 1st ISTE Engineering Education Congress, Dr. B.R. Ambedkar National Institute of Technology, Jalandhar.
  • Member, Board of PG Studies, MVCE, Pondicherry University.
  • Member, Editorial Board in several peer review International Journals like IJAMT, etc.
  • Member, Multi - Disciplinary Research Advisory Board, Global Institute for Stereovision and Research, Chennai – 101.
  • Member, Academic Advisory Committee, Indian Technology Congress, Bengaluru.
  • Member, Board of Studies, Karpagam University, Coimbatore
  • Member, Governing Council, SMK Fomra Institute of Technology, Chennai
  • Member, Advisory Committee, Bharathi International CBSE School, Kallakurichi, Villupuram District.


  • Executive Committee Member, National Executive Councill, Indian Society for Technical Education (ISTE), New Delhi since 2020
  •  Council Member, Institution of Engineers (India), Kanyakumari Local Centre, Kanyakumari District


  •  Life Member, Indian Society for Technical Education (ISTE), New Delhi
  •  Fellow, Institution of Engineers (India), Kolkata
  •  Member, Computer Society of India (CSI)